RSS

Lean in close…

06 Apr

Lean in, lean in really close, I want to share something with you something that will give you some insight as to who I am.

Now, I will have to ask that you focus on this and only this, because I have a strong dislike about having to repeat myself. So, if I sharing this with you, I feel that you should be focused on what I am telling you and yes, I will try to keep it brief.

I have been in love with the same man for the last eleven years. See, I knew immediately that he was the one, I had no doubts. He on the other had, well that is another story for another time. See my husband is my best friend, he is the person who supports me in my crazy endeavors, but also who stands his ground when my wants and our checkbook don’t match up. He is the realist to my dreamer, we are a perfect match.

Now, I would not have you believe that he is a pushover, because he is far from that LOL! He is the blanket I never had as a child, the arms I longed for as a young woman and the laughter I dreamt and waited for, knowing one day…

He makes me laugh, we laugh a lot, I think we spend most of our time laughing at me. He is a stone comic and as my co-worker stated, he is the “Abbott to my Costello, the Ricky to Lucy.” I tell friends that where we laugh the most is where most people do the most fighting.

I love that he is patient with me. He listens, is supportive, caring and completely genuine. He does not really pull punches with me, he lays it on the line (keeps it real), but he never aims to wound me.

When we begin dating (that was short lived) I was already smitten with him and had no intention of letting him get away, looking back I’m glad I was so brazen as to dare him to “dump me.” See, what I know that hundreds of other women only wish they knew is this, not every man is a keeper, if you are blessed enough to get one hold on to him. If by chance he ever talks about leaving (for something other than work, to get gas or to buy you a gift) chain him to the bed LOL men always come around when you pull out the whips, chains and feather boa.

R&W

 
5 Comments

Posted by on April 6, 2011 in Personal

 

Tags: , , , , ,

5 responses to “Lean in close…

  1. Thomas

    April 6, 2011 at 7:43 pm

    Honestly…..all of your words are what people who love to learn about the concept of “accepted codependancy” want to hear. You need a few single sisters to share with the rest of us….not all women are so keen as you…. =)

     
    • Reminiscent & Wonder

      April 6, 2011 at 8:42 pm

      Thomas, pardon me if I got this wrong, but are you implying that I am “co-independent” on my spouse?

       
  2. Thomas

    April 9, 2011 at 8:47 am

    Dear girl, I am implying that it’s nice to see that you’re dependant upon love and the attention he feeds you…. You don’t have to rationalize much after reading your sentence : “He is the blanket I never had as a child, the arms I longed for as a young woman and the laughter I dreamt and waited for, knowing one day…”

    I haven’t felt like that in a long time, however, once I read it, I knew the precise meaning you were trying to convey. I’m honestly happy that you guys are doing well!

    T.

     
    • Reminiscent & Wonder

      April 9, 2011 at 7:46 pm

      Thanks, I wasn’t sure if I had misconveyed something in the blog. I am a the type of person who ask questions when I need clarification, thanks for being the type that responds with an answer.

       
  3. JDaniels

    May 12, 2011 at 5:58 am

    Beautiful…I have loved the same man for 21 years and I am dependent on his love, as he is on mine. Your words are powerful…all people should know a love like this. Thanks for sharing.

     

Leave a Reply

 
