RSS

Know Your Worth…

13 Dec

Don’t you dare, for one more second, surround yourself with people who are not aware of the greatness that you are. ~Jo Blackwell-Preston

While out to dinner with my husband recently, I ran into an old friend with whom I had lost touch. It was a pleasant surprise for each of us. Prior to leaving the restaurant. she stopped by our table and I shared my business card with her. She exclaimed joy, surprise and amazement, while also congratulating me on finally moving forward in selling my jewelry (creating had been a long time hobby, but selling was never an option).

What followed her excitement was not a shock to me, but something that I have come to expect in general from individuals since choosing to sell my creations. She related how she had recently attended a jewelry party and commented that the seller sold her pieces for “really cheap.”

Nodding, I expressed that my pieces were not cheap, but high quality materials and many being my designs. I further explained that I would not lower my prices nor my expectations. In agreement with the conversation, she offered that I would have to find the right “crowd” to purchase my pieces if I wanted to command the prices that I was seeking. What she said came not as a surprise to me.

A few weeks ago, I created a few pieces for a silent auction that my daughter was hosting for The United Way. When I presented my pieces I informed her that one of the pieces the minimum starting bid would have to be no less than $60 (the piece is well worth $120 time and materials). She felt that it was too much, but I refused to lower my asking price and stated that I would gladly take the piece home as I had received offers prior.

The hardest challenge is to be yourself in a world where everyone is trying to make you be somebody else. ~E. E. Cummings

I share these stories as a way of linking my title, Know Your Worth…. this is not just about creating or selling jewelry, it is about lowering your self expectations, worth or value.

When we aren’t certain of what the value to place on ourself or an item it is easy to get caught up in the fray and allow someone else to dictate our worth. This happens daily in relationships (intimate, work, or business). Knowing your worth allows you to set the perimeters of what you will and will not accept.

I know the amount of time, thought and conceptual process and material cost I put into a design creation. I would be a fool to lower my intent to appease someone else, because they will expect me to lower my worth each time they return. Remember my friends comment “really cheap” I am not interested in baiting someone who isn’t interested in high/good quality that is not my target audience.

As a woman, (once single, but happily married twelve years) I take to heart what I learned as a single woman…Know Your Worth! Lowering your standards to catch a fish will only get you two things 1) a fish that does not meet your standards or 2) continuing to lower your standards.

Fish only in ponds, lakes or streams that contain your target audience. That is a truism for business and matters of the heart.

I was once afraid of people saying, “Who does she think she is?” Now I have the courage to stand and say, “This is who I am.” ~Oprah Winfrey

20111222-182410.jpg

 
6 Comments

Posted by on December 13, 2011 in friends, Personal, Wandering

 

Tags: , , ,

6 responses to “Know Your Worth…

  1. Crystal

    December 13, 2011 at 8:06 am

    This couldn’t have come at a more perfect time for me. Thanks…sometimes our prayers get answered in the most unique of ways.

     
  2. hugmamma

    January 3, 2012 at 12:01 am

    we are of like minds, i think…remaining true to our inner selves…while others…and society’s expectations aim to chip away…in an effort to make us…all the same…instead of applauding and nurturing…our uniqueness.

    well-written…and inspiring…words… 😉

     
    • Reminiscent & Wonder

      January 7, 2012 at 6:04 pm

      Thanks, I was curious if you resided in Alaska as I do. It is not everyday you meet someone who has pets named after Alaskan cities. Thanks for your comments. Determined to be me until my very last breath.

       
  3. Crystal

    January 31, 2012 at 8:25 am

    Test…

     

Leave a Reply

 
