RSS

Living Your Own…

19 Jan

“We can never judge the lives of others, because each person knows only their own pain.”

Typically, I try to refrain from casting judgement on others. I understand that we are all human and capable of bad judgement or ill choices. Because, I have a weakness for believing that “all people are essentially good” and that “good will always prevail” I bite the dust “a lot, a lot!” Now, in my mind neither of those beliefs are wrong, but note people do prove me wrong more than I care to admit.

Time and time again, I have encountered people who judge others, who criticize or who elicit the mob mentality to win friends and influence craziness. As a positive person, I do not want that type of energy permeating my life and it is during these times that I feel “trimming the fat” becomes a necessity of life.

I don’t really want to be responsible for more than my life, but I know that I am. I am a human being and as such my responsibility extends beyond the borders of just me. I have a penchant for the underdog and will scrap (verbally) with the best of them in defense of another individual.

I neither want nor believe I have the right to cast my personal opinions on or against a person, but being human I make mistakes and sometimes I do the very thing I hope not to do. What I have learned is that people can explain away every aspect of wrong and even convince themselves to believe or buy into crazy. I choose not to shop on that particular “aisle” anytime whilst I remain sane.

Every fiber of my being wants me to believe that “people are essentially good,” but how can I when in showing me who they are as beings they mussy up the whole premiss of my own belief system.

When I read “The Fifth Agreement” I immediately connected with the concept that “each person creates their own movie reel and that also we have no control of how others view or perceive our actions in our movie. I am of the opinion that every now and again, we should take a step back from ourselves and try to see ourselves from someone else’s perspective. However, it is important to remember that in the end, the reel is yours and you only have say, in the final cut of your version.

I own my story, if I share any part of my story or who I am with you, consider yourself lucky. As I would in having you share yourself with me. What I know for certain is that when you criticize me and do not know me, you do not weaken me; you fail yourself.

My life has been one of rich colors and varying tapestries woven together to create the me I am today. A life that I have been happy to share openly with others, not just my ups, but also my downs. As I continue to grow, I am learning that not everyone can be happy for you and sometimes it is the very individuals to whom you share friendship or kinship who will seek to destroy you.

Admittedly, I am not prepared to live shrouded in distrust, because that is neither who I really am nor who I wish to become. In all honesty…I just want people to get along.

20120119-181830.jpg

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 19, 2012 in Rant

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
