RSS

22 Mar

Lori's Inner Goddess

Poor grammar and spelling appear to be an epidemic affecting our country.  Okay, so maybe it’s not as newsworthy or mind blowing as obesity, gun control, homelessness, etc.  But for self-titled Grammar Nazis like myself, finding free and loose spelling and grammar in print is like nails on a chalkboard.  (Insert high-pitched screech here).   Unfortunately I see it everywhere.  In advertising.  On television.  In magazines.  Even on materials my son brings home from school. That’s right, the very institution that is supposedly teaching our children is educating them with random capitalization, misspelled words and the abuse of commas and apostrophes.  I love seeing how many “test’s” he is going to have and how “mistake’s” won’t be tolerated.  That’s pretty darn funny.   Severely frustrating is that he will turn in papers that have text slang (such as “these books r popular”), miscapitalization (“I saw charles Throw the ball”) and without a date or even…

View original post 377 more words

 
2 Comments

Posted by on March 22, 2013 in Love Stories

 

2 responses to “

  1. Lori

    March 22, 2013 at 10:57 am

    Thank you so much for reblogging! 🙂

    Happy Friday!

     
  2. Reminiscent & Wonder

    March 24, 2013 at 5:23 am

    I enjoy writing, when I can make myself sitdown a piece words together. You’ll unlikely find a mispelled word among my hundreds of words, however I’ve shared before that my fear is I’m not a grammar expert. I wish I could figure that one out, but alas…
    If I could, I’m certain I would never allow an idea to sit idle or pass me by.

    You are very welcome 😉

     

Leave a Reply

 
